Archives for Awards-Prizes-Honors Current Affairs 2014

Archives for Awards-Prizes-Honors Current Affairs 2014.

• Guljar has won 45th Dadasaheb phalke award.
• Donna Vekic (Croatia) won the BMW Malaysian Tennis Open 2014
• Mathangi Sathyamurthy honored with M S Subbulakshmi Award 2014
• Stanislas Wawrinka won Monte Carlo Masters 2014 Tennis title
• Cherrapunji set World record for highest rainfall in 48 hours with 2493 millimeters
• List of Winner of 61st National Film Awards 2014 India and most important comes up that the best film awards gone to “Ship of Theseus” which is directed by Anand Gandhi.
• Indian Judokas won 12 medals at the 7th South Asia Judo Championship
• Vijay Seshadri (India-born US poet) won Pulitzer Prize 2014
• Gaurav Gill (Delhi based MRF driver) won Vinz Whangarei Car Rally
• Legendary Poet and lyricist Gulzar selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award 2013
• British-American physicist Stuart Parkin won Millennium Technology Prize 2014
• Ratan Tata become a member of China-backed Board of Boao Forum for Asia
• Queen Elizabeth II Awarded Ratan Tata With Knight Commander (KBE) 2014
• Ernesto Gainza made a new Guinness world record of skydiving by using smallest parachute
• Andrea Petkovic won WTA title at the Family Circle Cup 2014 in USA
• Heena Sindhu Spot World no.1 Position in 10 Meter Air Pistol Event
• Lee Chong Wei & Shixian Wang won India Super Series Badminton Men’s & Women’s titles
• Iwao Hakamada honored with Boxing Belt by WBC (World Boxing Council )
• Punjab Hockey Team won Junior National Hockey Title 2014
• Koyal Rana won the Femina Miss India 2014 of 51st Edition

Nobel Prizes

The Nobel prizes lore awarded each year under the will of Alfred Nobel, Swedish chemist, engineer and inventor of dynamite, who died in 1896.

  • The award is given to those who have made most outstanding contribution in the field of physics, chemistry and physiology or medicine, who have produced most distinguished literary work of an idealist tendency and those who have contributed most towards world peace.
  • The Nobel Prize for economics was first awarded in 1969 and was established by Riksband, the Central Bank of Sweden.
  • Other awards started in 1901.
  • The fund is managed by a board of directors, the head of which is appointed by the Swedish Government.